Wednesday, March 4 – Friday, March 6

Oh, what an unlovely shift

Wednesday and Thursday at my main job both fell in the “tough but tolerable” category. I spent the days at a worksite that was generally more challenging than the one for Monday and Tuesday. What made the days tough is that I had to work at a fast yet efficient pace to get everything done. Had I been new on the job this wouldn’t have been possible, but one advantage of experience is that it boosts one’s speed and efficiency. Still, I finished up by the normal quitting time and was able to take my allotted breaks, hence the tolerable part.

Thursday evening’s shift at the Major Home Improvement Retailer was another story entirely. I worked from 4:30 to 10, and figured at first that it wouldn’t be too bad. Wrong! The assistant manager who looks out for the garden  department had just returned from vacation. Before leaving two weeks prior he had complied a list of things that had to be done, and now that he was back he found that many of the.tasks hadn’t been completed. While I wasn’t in any way responsible for their lack of completion, naturally enough the job of getting them done fell on me. Mostly I had to pack out freight,  shrink wrap several bulky items, clean the grass seed aisle, and too much more to recount. By the time 10 rolled around – and time moved VERY slowly – I was exhausted and filthy.

I was eternally grateful that Friday was my day off. After a midday trip to Roosevelt Field Mall, with its impressive new food court – sorry, “Dining District” – it was off to the gym in the early evening. Being too beat out from Thursday’s MHIR shift to do pull-ups or dips, I had to improvise with other stuff. T-bar rows: 4 × 8 × 115. Plate-loaded dips: 4 × 8 × 270. Hammer Strength shoulder presses : 4 × 8 × 100 / 100.

Published in: on March 9, 2015 at 3:52 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2015/03/09/wednesday-march-4-friday-march-6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

