Tuesday, March 17 – Thursday, March 19

How far can you stretch?

Tuesday was a rather non-festive St. Patrick’s day, as it was a two-jobs day for me. I was at my regular job from 7 until 2:30, and then after what seemed like a very short break (three hours that felt more like three minutes), it was off to the Major Home Improvement Retailer for a 5:30 to 11 shift. Fortunately it was the only day this week that I was scheduled for both jobs. Another thing that helped was that my regular job wasn’t too bad. This is a remarkably easy cycle, with really only one day having been necessary to get adjusted to it. The MHIR shift, in contrast, was pretty tough. Its hard to adjust to a 5 1/2 hour shift. It seems much, much longer than a 4 hour shift, somehow that extra 90 minutes makes a big difference. And it’s not that much easier than an 8 hour shift, most likely because there’s no lunch break to separate it into halves.

Wednesday was mostly a lost day. I was absolutely exhausted from the previous long day. Getting through my regular job was a real ordeal. My pace was well below average, which made me all the more thankful that it was an easy cycle. I don’t know how I could have coped otherwise.  Needless to say, going to the gym simply wasn’t an option.

Thursday was much better. I had something approaching a normal energy level, and work was so easy I had to find various tasks to occupy myself for an hour or so until I could leave. That evening I went to the 7:30 session at the hot yoga center and am pleased to report that it went well. While tracking one’s progress in yoga is not as straightforward as in sports with measurable objectives, such as running or weight lifting, I was able to tell that I could stretch further in some positions than ever before. No one’s ever going to mistake me for Gumby, but at least my flexibility is somewhat greater than that of concrete.  Somewhat.

Published in: on March 22, 2015 at 11:49 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2015/03/22/tuesday-march-17-thursday-march-19/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

