Monday, March 30 – Wednesday, April 1

Too little is worse than too much

So I began my week off from my regular job, though I worked 7:30 pm to midnight each day at the Major Home Improvement Retailer. One definitely nice thing is being freed from the tyranny of the alarm clock. Or phone alarm app, to be more accurate.  It will be especially tyrannical when I have to get up at 6:15 for my regular job after having worked at the MHIR until midnight the preceding evening.

Speaking of the MHIR, Monday’s shift was one of my worse ever. I had thought there would be a big freight shipment to pack out, but it got delayed for some reason. What that meant is that I had basically nothing to do for the two hours after the store closed at 10. I must have swept the aisles 20 times! Time of course moved *very* slowly. Thankfully there was plenty of freight on Tuesday and Wednesday.  It was hard work at times, with boxes and boxes to be carried up ladders,  but that was infinitely preferable to having nothing to do. Wednesday’s shift was enlightening because I spent part of it with a worker who has been with the MHIR for years, and she answered some questions I had had about scheduling. Basically, management often uses schedules as a reward, the more reliable and hard-working you prove yourself to be, the more hours you get. Makes sense.

I went to the gym in the afternoon on both Monday and Wednesday. Monday’s session went well: T-bar rows : 5 × 8 × 125. Overhead presses : 5 × 8 × 80. I went to do bench presses on Wednesday but a sore shoulder brought the session to an early end: 6 × 135, 6 × 165, 6 × 185, 4 × 205, 4 × 225,  2 × 225.

Published in: on April 3, 2015 at 6:20 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2015/04/03/monday-march-30-wednesday-april-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

