Saturday, April 25 – Sunday, April 26

It was an easier weekend than usual as I didn’t work two full days at the Major Home Improvement Retailer. As I’ve noted, there’s a vast difference between a 4-hour shift and an 8-hour one. Like night and.day. Saturday was the long shift, 3:30 to midnight. I did mostly errands.errands and other miscellaneous stuff during the day. The shift itself was busy, but not quite as hectic as I would have expected, as the garden department was fully staffed. I actually did a lot of work indoors, trying to get the cleaning-products aisle in some semblance of order. The employee who usually takes care of that aisle is out sick, so things had gotten a bit disorderly.  One thing that mildly disappointed me is that I didn’t get the chance for the second session of forklift training.

As I wasn’t going in until 6 on Sunday, I took advantage of the time to head off to the gym. By this point I’ve resigned myself that I’m in “maintenance” mode until the busy season at the MHIR ends in a couple months and I have more time on my hands. I did T-bar rows, 5 × 8 × 115, and machine dips, 6 × 8 at resistance level 15 of 18. I finished with Hammer Strength shoulder presses, 4 × 8 × 90/90.

Work at the MHIR was easy enough, mostly freight packout.  There are no freight deliveries on weekends but some from a Friday delivery was still in the receiving area. For the first hour or so I was in the unusual position of giving directions to two new employees.  The department head wasn’t there, and I was the only experienced worker in garden. It wasn’t bad,  though of course I got no extra pay.

Published in: on April 29, 2015 at 10:48 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2015/04/29/saturday-april-25-sunday-april-26/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

