Monday, May 18 – Tuesday, May 19

Half work

So began my week off from my regular job. Not getting paid for a week is quite a drag, but in my more lucid moments I must admit that I needed some time off. Working so many hours was starting to take a toll on me.

It wasn’t as if I had nothing to do, of course. On Monday I worked at the Major Home Improvement Retailer from 8 to midnight while on Tuesday it was an almost full shift from 4:30 to midnight. Monday’s shift wasn’t too bad. Most of the freight packout for the next day’s Big Boss Visit had been completed. For most of my shift I worked in one of the aisles, straightening things up and bringing products from the overhead storage to fill as many shelf gaps as possible. It entailed quite a bit of scrambling up and down ladders but was okay. This idea, of having employees concentrate on specific aisles, has been around for a while but really began in earnest on the weekend. I’m not yet sure if it’s going to be a permanent change or what I think about it.

On Tuesday, my tooth was almost back to normal, so I tiptoed back to the gym before work. All I did was some very light machine work on my upper body. I didn’t keep track of what I was doing,  the point was just doing something.

As for the MHIR shift, it was definitely no walk in the park. The garden department was understaffed due to people calling out, and at times I was the only employee on duty. I found myself trying to do several things at the same time.  I’d be putting returns back on the shelves, running outside to fill propane orders, answering price-check calls from the registers, trying to retrieve will-call orders, make a list of outdoor items to be restocked, and of course waiting on customers. All pretty much at the same time.  It was a relief when things finally quieted down.

Published in: on May 22, 2015 at 4:51 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2015/05/22/monday-may-18-tuesday-may-19/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

