Saturday, May 30 – Sunday, May 31

May ended in pretty much of a blur for me. I worked two 8-hour shifts at the Major Home Improvement Retailer, noon to 8:30 on Saturday and 3:30 to midnight on Sunday. Coming at the end of a 58-hour workweek between both of my jobs, and after more than a week without a day off, I was pretty much ground down to nothing.

It did not help that these were two very busy days. Saturday had a nonstop customer flow for almost all of the shift. Only in the last 90 minutes or so did I have any slow stretches. Sunday was not as busy in customer terms, but I had a considerable amount of freight packout.  One particularly distasteful task was cutting the plastic wrap off pallets of mulch and topsoil. There are several overlapping layers, and because the pallets have been stored outside for weeks or even months water can get trapped between the layers. When I cut into the plastic I can (and often do) get drenched with a flood of stagnant water. Lovely.

Still, I shouldn’t complain too much. I won’t be working as many hours at the MHIR in the next couple weeks …. which means that I’ll instead be complaining about too little pay. And I went to the gym before work on Sunday and did some reasonably decent bench pressing, given my lack of recent activity: 6 × 135, 6 × 165, 6 × 185, 4 × 205, 4 × 225, 4 × 205, 6 × 185.

Published in: on June 4, 2015 at 2:21 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2015/06/04/saturday-may-30-sunday-may-31/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

