Thursday, June 18 – Friday, June 19

Oh, they’re not that heavy 

Thursday was the last day of a two-week cycle at my main job. Usually, last days are pretty easy and I can knock off for the day an hour early or even more. There are exceptions to every rule, of course, and this was one of those days. I couldn’t seem to get things finished and ended up staying a little past normal quitting time. And even that took a lot of scrambling. I’m hoping this was not a preview of the next cycle, which is going to be a very tough one.

I decided to make a quick gym visit before my 8 to midnight shift at the Major Home Improvement Retailer. Lingering pain in my left foot made my original plan of deadlifting a no-go. Instead I just did one-arm dumbbell rows, 5 × 8 × 80/80. As things turned out, I got more than enough of a deadlifting substitute during my shift. I spent most of the four hours disassembling outdoor plant stands. Each consisted of steel grating or boards laid atop a base of cement blocks. Lifting of the gratings or boards and putting them on pallets was easy enough. What was definitely not so easy was doing the same with the cement blocks. Each one weighs about 30 pounds, which isn’t bad, but I ended up lifting at least 150 of them off the ground (with bending, of course). It  ranked very, very low on my list of favorite tasks!

Friday was a much-welcomed day off. After doing some chores in the morning, I walked for about five miles on the Setauket – Port Jefferson trail. I’ve been on it before and have always liked it. About the only downside is that my foot, which had been fine in the morning, went through a slight relapse as a result of all that walking. It wasn’t too bad, but was enough to make me decide that going to the evening hot yoga session was a bad idea.

Published in: on June 23, 2015 at 1:03 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2015/06/23/thursday-june-18-friday-june-19/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

