Thursday, June 25 – Sunday, June 28

I ate too much

Thursday was my last day at my regular job before the 4th of July break. My thoughts on having a week off are mixed. I certainly can use a break from my tough schedule, on the other hand I won’t be getting paid for the week off. That’s part of the deal with the job, something I knew about when hired three years ago, and an allowance for these off weeks is built into my pay rate. But still. Getting the short paychecks is never fun.

In any event, I was too busy on Thursday to give these issues much thought. Just because it was the last pre-break day at my main job didn’t mean that it was an easy day. Not by a very long shot. I actually did not finish until about ten minutes after normal quitting time.  I suppose I should be able to get a bit of extra pay for those ten minutes. I then worked 6:30 to midnight at the Major Home Improvement Retailer. It wasn’t too busy at first, but then things really picked up with a big load of freight for packout. I set a goal for myself, to complete the packout of a full pallet by midnight. It looked none too promising for a while but I finally got it done around 11:50. Cutting it close.

Friday was my birthday, so I was happy that I didn’t have to work at either job. I did some stuff here and there during the day, and made a short gym trip. Just some upper-body machine work, no records being set or even challenged. In the early evening we went for dinner at a very good Italian restaurant that’s coincidentally in the same plaza as the MHIR. A good time was had by all, and I really gorged myself on veal cutlet parmesan. Plenty of leftovers, too.

Saturday and Sunday were rather similar. I worked 3:30 to midnight at the MHIR each day, and both shifts were in that middle ground, a sweet spot really, between boring and hectic. I was rarely stuck with little to do and was rarely swamped. If only all shifts could be like that …

I had a pretty good gym trip before my shift on Saturday.  I did one-arm dumbbell rows, 6 × 8 × 80/80. Moving up to the 80’s was no trouble. As the gym was quite busy I wasn’t able to find a vacant bench and had to do the rows leaning my nonworking arm on the weight rack for support. It’s a perfectly fine variation, though it was a bit odd at first. I also did Hammer Strength MTS shoulder presses, 4 × 8 × 100/100, and some machine flies.

Published in: on July 1, 2015 at 11:57 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2015/07/01/thursday-june-25-sunday-june-28/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

