Monday, July 13 – Tuesday, July 14

Roasting

I knew well in advance that the work cycle at my main job that began on Monday was going to be difficult. What I did not know in advance was just how difficult it would be. That became crystal clear almost as soon as I started on Monday morning. In two hours I had made less progress than I usually make in an hour. Oh joy. For a while it was looking as if I’d never finish by my usual quitting time, which would mean that I’d have to call for overtime authorization  (and hope that I wouldn’t get voicemailed). Fortunately it didn’t come to that, but it wasn’t easy. I had to skip my 15-minute morning break and took just ten minutes for lunch instead of the 30 minutes I’m supposed to get. Even so, I finished right at the deadline. Too close for comfort.

I wasn’t scheduled at the Major Home Improvement Retailer in the evening, in fact my next hours aren’t until Saturday, so I made a fairly lengthy gym trip. I concentrated on bench press, with some decent results: 6 × 135, 6 × 165, 6 × 185, 4 × 205, 2 × 6 × 225, 8 × 185.  I was glad to have gotten two sets of six at 225, haven’t done that in a while. Maybe next bench session I’ll try for eight. I also did some lighter machine work for shoulders.

Tuesday was another challenging day at work, though a bit easier as I had more of a handle on my tasks. I still worked right to the deadline but this time was able to take normal breaks. It makes a big difference.

I went to hot yoga for the first time in too long, attending the 5:30 session. The studio owner led it, and one thing I liked is that she knew my name even though I’m one of probably a few hundred members and have only met her on three or four occasions, none within the last couple of months. As for the session, it was, well, hot. Hotter than usual, according to the instructor. Getting through it was really tough, not just from the heat but also because it was my first session in a month. It also was a full 90-minute session rather than the 75-minute “express” ones I usually attend. There are the same number of positions but more rest time between them. That might sound good, but the extra 15 minutes in the heat more than counteracts any benefits of the longer rest periods. Still, I made it through, somehow, though on a couple of occasions I had to sit out a bit. As did many other people in the crowded room. I’m glad I went.

Published in: on July 17, 2015 at 3:01 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2015/07/17/monday-july-13-tuesday-july-14/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

