Saturday, July 18 – Sunday, July 19

Whoops! I was scheduled to work an unusual shift on Saturday at the Major Home Improvement Retailer, 12:15 to 4:15. It’s relatively uncommon for shifts to begin or end on the quarter hour. So around 11 I checked my schedule to make sure it wasn’t actually 12:30 when I was supposed to start.

It wasn’t. My shift was starting at 12:15 … on Sunday. I should have been in at 9:30. Of course I went rushing in, and everything was okay. Mistakes like this happen a lot, and there are no consequences so long as there aren’t a lot of repeat mistakes. Of course I did lose two hours’ pay. It wasn’t a bad shift, mostly regular customer service stuff.

You’d better believe that I made sure of my Sunday schedule, 12:15 to 7:15. Before starting I made a rare morning trip to the gym, again just machine work. As for my shift, the key word was HOT. I spent a good part of it outside in the broiling sun, flagging for another worker who was using a forklift with extension blades to move several display sheds from the side of the store to the front. It was slow, painstaking work, as we had to use timbers to make a base for each shed. Even when that was done I didn’t get to spend much time in the gloriously air conditioned indoors. For some reason the heat didn’t stop customers from flocking to the outside garden area and there were constant propane exchanges. Yet somehow I didn’t melt.

Published in: on July 22, 2015 at 12:45 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2015/07/22/saturday-july-18-sunday-july-19/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

