Friday, July 24 – Sunday, July 26

Friday was a nice easy do-nothing day off. I made a conscious effort to do as little as possible. Okay, that doesn’t mean nothing; I made a late afternoon trip to the gym for some back and shoulders machine work. I haven’t set a hard deadline for returning to a more focused free-weights routine. It depends, in large part, on my work schedule. If I’m working 50+ hours a week between the two jobs it is difficult to follow a strict gym routine. With the busy season at the Major Home Improvement Retailer nearing an end, especially after the August 4 inventory, my schedule shouldn’t be quite as tough. If I’m in the 44 to 48 hour range there will be more time and energy for the gym and for hot yoga too.

Saturday was a long shift at the MHIR, 8:45 to 5:15. Fortunately I had gotten a new pair of shoes that are quite easy on my feet, so I wasn’t limping around in pain at the end of the shift. Although the store was busy, Garden was well-staffed for most of the day so it wasn’t too bad. Sunday was just a 4-hour shift, 1 to 5, and especially after Saturday it seemed to zip right by.

One thing I did after work on Sunday was finish up a book I’ve been reading, In the Kingdom of Ice by Hamilton Sides. It’s about the USS Jeannette expedition to the North Pole in 1879. Needless to say they did not get there, and only about a third of the expedition members survived. It’s kind of hard to tell whether the explorers were brave, or foolish, or both. More likely both. I leaned a couple bits of trivia: one advantage of leather outdoor clothing is that you can eat it if things are really desperate, and speaking of food, roast sled dog is not very tasty. Now you know.

Published in: on August 1, 2015 at 1:02 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2015/08/01/friday-july-24-sunday-july-26/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

