Thursday, September 3 – Sunday, September 6

Toiling in the salt mines

I have to admit that after over a year and a half working at the Major Home Improvement Retailer I’m starting to get somewhat frustrated with it. I’ve spoken to two managers about how I’m getting absolutely buried with hours, to no avail. Okay, the money is nice, but I can work only so many hours in a week. Some hope may be on the horizon, with new people being hired and with the seasonal slowdown on its way. For the time being, however, I have no choice but to get used to 55+ hour workweeks.

At.least Thursday was a day off from the MHIR. I worked at my regular job, but being that it was the end of a work cycle it was an easy day. Friday was my day off from both jobs, and I tried not to do too much. I had decent gym sessions on both days. On Thursday I did cable rows, which for now is my back exercise of choice (soon enough I’ll change). I did a total of 48 reps, 6 × 8, with the resistance about 3/4 of the stack. Then came Hammer Strength MTS shoulder presses, 4 x 8 x 100/100. Friday was for bench pressing, decent if not spectacular: 6 × 135, 6 × 155, 6 × 185, 4 x 205, 2 × 4 x 225, 8 × 185. I also did some work with the medicine ball.

Speaking of exercise, I did something rather unwise on Saturday. I wasn’t going into the MHIR until 1:30, and it was a really nice day, so I decided to hike for an hour on the Setauket – Port Jefferson trail. It was nice, unfortunately I somehow strained the arch of my right foot. Which lead to a very painful 8 hour shift. Fortunately the store wasn’t too busy, and I managed to keep my walking to a minimum, but it still hurt. Sunday was less painful, except this time I worked for nine hours, the first time I’ve gone past eight. Ouch.

Published in: on September 11, 2015 at 1:34 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2015/09/11/thursday-september-3-sunday-september-6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

