Thursday, October 1 – Sunday, October 4

A dose of culture, and then more work

October started out pretty well with an easy workday. It was a decent day at my regular job, busy but not hectic. While I worked up until my normal quitting time, or close thereto, at no point was I ever concerned that I wouldn’t be able to finish up in time.

Thankfully, after my two cleanup-frenzy shifts, I was not scheduled at the Major Home Improvement Retailer in the evening. Later on I found out that the Big Boss had indeed made a store inspection tour on Thursday morning and was pleased with what he saw. Guess my labors weren’t in vain. On Thursday evening I had planned to go to the gym for the first time in too long but other things intervened.

Friday was a cultural enrichment day. We went to the Museum of Modern Art, my second visit in three months. It was just as enlightening as last time, there always are new things to discover. My only regret was that the outdoor sculpture garden was closed, on account of it being a rainy day. Next up on the cultural agenda is the Metropolitan Museum of Art. I haven’t been there in years, and it’s so vast even a full day visit can only scratch the metaphorical surface.

Saturday and Sunday were regular workdays at the MHIR. Early.days too, as I worked 7 to 3:30 on Saturday and 8 to 4:30 on Sunday. Ugh. Saturday was a quiet day, with the continuing rain keeping customers away, though I was able to get quite a bit of freight packout done. Sunday was a nice sunny day, and the people who didn’t come on Saturda came on Sunday instead. It was crowded almost my entire shift. Fortunately the department was well staffed, but even so I did more running around than usual. Hey, it made the day zip right by.

One advantage of getting out early is that I was able to make it to the gym late Saturday afternoon. I did upper body work, keeping it machine based and not too tough as I’ve been away for a while. My work schedule should be getting a but easier, so I have no excuse for not going to the gym on a regular basis.

Published in: on October 7, 2015 at 11:04 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2015/10/07/thursday-october-1-sunday-october-4/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

