Monday, October 26 – Wednesday, October 28

Working like crazy, with an interruption. 

Monday and Wednesday were very very tough days. It was Week Two of that ultra-hard cycle at my main job, and any faint hopes that the second week would be easier quickly vanished. Both days I worked almost nonstop from 7 to just about 3. Monday I took a break of about 15 minutes for lunch, Wednesday barely 10. Mere words cannot describe how bad this cycle has been. Thankfully the next one will be better, though I will be missing three days of it when I go to Florida.

As for the Major Home Improvement Retailer, I worked 4:30 to 8:30 on Monday and 4:30 to 9 on Wednesday. Neither shift had much in common with the other. Monday was fairly busy, though not in a bad way. There was a moderate amount of freight to handle, and being the only employee on duty in garden i waited on customers as well. And the store was unusually busy for a Monday.

Wednesday was completely the opposite. There was no freight, another employee was on duty in the department for most of my shift, and last but not least heavy rain kept most of the customers away. All of which meant that my shift absolutely dragged. Five hours that seemed more like ten. To say that I was ecstatic when my shift finally ended would be a huge understatement.

I didn’t mention Tuesday because it wasn’t like the other days. In fact I didn’t work at all, but instead made a quick trip into Manhattan. As usual, we parked at my secret spot in Queens and took the subway inton Manhattan. Among much else the trip featured a walk along the High Line, which I really enjoy. Traffic getting back was definitely no picnic, but I didn’t care because it totally beat working!

Published in: on October 30, 2015 at 9:01 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2015/10/30/monday-october-26-wednesday-october-28/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

