Monday, November 16 – Thursday, November 19

Winding down.

Falling leaves aren’t the only sign of late autumn. As the year enters its final stretch, my main job winds down too. These days featured a very easy work cycle, so easy that I was done within four to five hours each day. At least I still get paid for seven. After that brutally difficult cycle I had a few weeks ago this comes as an extreme relief. Not only were my workdays short, but they were pleasantly low pressure too.

After this week I’m off for Thanksgiving week, then back for two weeks that should also be very easy, and then off for three weeks. Regular cycles will return on January 4. While losing a total of four weeks work (and pay) is not my idea of fun, I can’t complain too much. It’s a known part of my job and an allowance for the time off is built into my salary. Besides,  I really could use the break.

I worked two shifts at the Major Home Improvement Retailer, five hours on Monday and four on Wednesday. Monday was the tougher of the two, as I restocked the shelves after the busy weekend. Leaf blowers in particular were almost gone from the shelves, so I made endless trips up and down rolling ladders to bring them down from overhead storage.  Leaf blowers are sort of like cellphones: relatively recent contraptions, people once did just fine without them, aND now they’re absolutely vital.

I went to the gym on Tuesday and did some bench pressing: 6 x 135, 6 × 155, 6 × 185, 4 x 205, 3 x 225, 4 x 225, 3 × 225, 8 × 185. P

Published in: on November 21, 2015 at 5:25 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2015/11/21/monday-november-16-thursday-november-19/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

