Monday, November 30 – Thursday, December 3

Cough, cough, cough

I shouldn’t complain. That nasty cold that had laid me low over the weekend had largely vanished by Monday morning, though I was weaker and less energetic  than usual. It was no longer a burden just to move around. I should be thankful for that.

Why I may seem less than grateful is not (hopefully) a reflection on my character, but the result of the fact that my body reacted to the cold just like it has reacted to every cold or sore throat for as long as I can remember: with a loud, wracking, and often painful cough that if experience is any guide could last for weeks. And of course there’s very little I can do about it. By Thursday I had gone through three bottles of cough syrup and countless cough drops, with what I’d say was minimal effect. There are countless brands and versions of over-the-counter cough syrup, but all of them are largely useless. Prescription cough syrup is more effective, but I dislike the idea of taking codeine. If headaches were like coughs, aspirin would be useless and your only remedy would be oxycontin.

Despite barking away like an old hound dog, and with my voice reduced to a hoarse whisper, I tried to make the best of the week. Each day I made it to my main job, helped by the fact that I’m on a very easy work cycle, and tried to be reasonably active in the evenings. While I called out of my one Major Home Improvement Retailer shift scheduled during this period, a 4-hour shift on Monday, that was due mainly to exhaustion. Of course going to the gym still wasn’t feasible, but that shouldn’t matter.

Published in: on December 4, 2015 at 7:04 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2015/12/04/monday-november-30-thursday-december-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Get Well Soon Bro 🙂


Leave a Reply

