Monday, December 28 – Wednesday, December 30

Road trip! (Well sort of)

Monday was our more-or-less annual trip to Callie’s Candy Kitchen and Pretzel Factory in eastern Pennsylvania. The Candy Kitchen and Pretzel Factory are a couple of miles apart, in the towns of Mountainhome and Cresco respectively, and are well worth the ~3 hour drive.  We’ve been going for years. Wait, did I say something about three hours? The drive there was about that long, while the return trip was closer to five hours courtesy of horrible traffic on the Cross Bronx Expressway. Oh, and that’s not to mention the (obscene) tolls that added up to $31 round trip. I suppose I shouldn’t complain too much as I didn’t do any of the driving. It’s uncommon for me to be a passenger for any substantial length of time and I actually enjoyed it.

Tuesday and Wednesday sort of blended together.  They were the last two days of my mini-vacation from both jobs, and I acted in appropriate vacation mode by doing not much of all.  I started reading a new book, Six Frigates by Ian Toll, about the founding of the US Navy. A Christmas gift, it’s in the traditional dead-tree version rather than on Kindle (how quaint!) So far it’s excellent. I also went to the gym both days, and both times in the early afternoon for a change. Tuesday I did back work, with chest and shoulders on Wednesday. Nothing outstanding, but decent.

Published in: on January 2, 2016 at 9:25 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2016/01/02/monday-december-28-wednesday-december-30/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

