Saturday, January 23 – Sunday, January 24

By the time I got up Saturday morning the snow was coming down heavily, and it was apparent that the original forecasts of 8 to 12 inches would be doubled and then some. I really really did not want to have to work, but being scheduled from 9 to 5:30 at the Major Home Improvement Retailer I answered the call of duty and made my (very slow) way into work. The roads were definitely not in good shape, with the snow coming down at a rate faster than the plows could handle, but somehow I made it to the store.

It was very quiet with a capital Q. Several of the employees scheduled to work had decided to play it safe and stay home, and there were only a few scattered customers braving the storm.  Unlike the case during my last shift, the prior Wednesday, there was ice melt galore, however snow shovels were sold out. A couple of people actually bought plastic transfer shovels, the sort you use for moving gravel or sand, figuring those were better than dirt shovels. While for a while it looked as if the storm was abating, but noon it had regained its prior intensity and then some. Finally, the manager on duty announced that the store would be closing at 2pm. Getting back was no picnic, but I made it, and needless to say stayed indoors for the rest of the day. Even better, although I left over three hours before the scheduled end of my shift, under company policy I still got paid  for the full shift.

Sunday was an 8:30 to 4 shift, although I had to get an early start to dig out my car. With the storm having ended around midnight the plows had been to work and the roads were at least semi-decent. The store was moderately busy during most of my shift, with the normal staff on duty, and as a nice touch the manager ordered pizza for everyone. For the last few hours of my shift I was assigned to snow removal duty in the outside garden area. Fortunately, I was not using one of the two store-use snowblowers, I hate using those contraptions, and instead did some good old fashioned shovel and wheel barrow work.

 

 

 

 

 

Published in: on January 30, 2016 at 3:38 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2016/01/30/saturday-january-23-sunday-january-24/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

