Friday, February 19 – Sunday, February 21

One day off is not enough

Let’s be realistic.  Having Friday off was a welcome relief after my brutal days on Wednesday and Thursday. I tried to do as little as possible, we made a trip to the Roosevelt Field Mall but I didn’t drive so it was okay. All in all it was a nice easy day. But it wasn’t enough! I simply needed more time to recover, and unfortunately Friday was it.

Saturday and Sunday were workdays – long workdays – at the Major Home Improvement Retailer. I didn’t actually do a full 8-hour shift either day, Saturday was seven hours and Sunday seven and a half, but they seemed utterly interminable. The store was fairly busy and the garden department wasn’t overstaffed, so the days shouldn’t have seemed so long, but they did. I would say it was because I was really dragging, not being close to fully recovered after Wednesday and Thursday. And the fact that I’ll be working those endless hours in the coming week was never far from my mind. Don’t get me wrong, the money’s nice, but everyone has a limit. And I went past mine.

Published in: on February 27, 2016 at 2:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2016/02/27/friday-february-19-sunday-february-21/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

