Thursday, March 9 – Sunday, March 12

Back into the heat!

After a remarkably easy day at my main job on Thursday, thanks to the very low-pressure work cycle, I decided to do something truly groundbreaking/revolutionary/paradigm changing … okay, that’s maybe a bit exaggerated, but it was something I haven’t done in at least a couple of months: yes, I went to hot yoga. After not going for so long I finally decided to stop procrastinating and just do it.

Given that it’s been so long, I decided to go for a 60-minute “express” session rather than the standard 90 minutes. Which doesn’t necessarily mean that it’s all that much easier, as there’s a faster pace with fewer and shorter breaks. Yet somehow, someway, I made it through. To my pleasant surprise my balance and flexibility did not deteriorate anywhere near as much I had I feared. Now, I’ll just have to keep this resolve.

Friday was a day off as usual, but in an extension of the newfound resolve that led to hot yoga the prior day I actually made it to the gym. What I’ve decided, tentatively at least, is to stick to the Big Three exercises – bench presses, squats, and deadlifts. It’s too easy to lose focus while selecting among the multitude of auxiliary exercises and trying to keep track of progress. I might add some upper-back work, but that’s about it. Anyway, I did bench presses, 6 x 135, 6 x 155, 6 x 185, 4 x 205, 2 x 2 x 225, 4 x 205, 6 x 185, 6 x 155, 6 x 135.

Not much to add about Saturday and Sunday. I worked both days at the Major Home Improvement Retailer, but they weren’t quite full shifts – 5 hours 45 minutes on Saturday, 5 hours 30 minutes on Sunday. Both days were pretty busy, that’s for sure, with a seemingly nonstop customer flow.

Published in: on March 15, 2016 at 1:58 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2016/03/15/thursday-march-9-sunday-march-12/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

