Monday, March 13 – Thursday, March 17

I knew the easy times couldn’t last

Monday began a new work cycle at my main job, and any hopes I might have harbored that it would be as easy and low-pressure as the last cycle got dashed in short order. Okay, I shouldn’t complain, I’ve had worse, much worse, but given the contrast to the last one it was a jarring dose of reality. On Monday and Tuesday I had to stay about a half hour past normal quitting time even with cutting my lunch break short. Both days were pretty close to overwhelming. Wednesday and Thursday were more tolerable. I took my normal allotted breaks and still was able to leave on time, though I had to work pretty fast.

Working extra time on Monday and Tuesday was tough because I also had to work from 4:30 to 8:30 both days at the Major Home Improvement Retailer. That gave me very little time in which to rush from one job to another. I don’t much like that, though it’s a fact of life for many, many people, including more than a few fellow MHIR employees. Anyway, I shouldn’t complain too much because the shifts were only 4-hour ones, and as I’ve previously stated the not-all-your-eggs-in-one-basket aspect of working two jobs is a big plus.

I recently stumbled into new interest that’s becoming a real time-suck: the Unresolved Mysteries forum on Reddit. It’s a compendium of strange disappearances, unclaimed bodies, and other mysteries that have defied all solution. Some cases I’ve heard of before, most I haven’t, but they’re all fascinating. Even better, the comments aren’t subject to pre-posting moderation, so there can be a very active give and take on new threads. Now, if I could just figure out how to stop spending so much time on it …

Published in: on March 21, 2016 at 4:10 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2016/03/21/monday-march-13-thursday-march-17/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

