Friday, March 18 – Sunday, March 20

And so begins over a week of minimal work – a week off from my main job, and lighter shifts at the Major Home Improvement Retailer. Despite the temporary income reduction I really could use the break. It’s the “temporary” part that matters; I know that I’ll be going back to the main job after Easter, and that the MHIR hours will pick up as we get into spring. It’s much harder to enjoy leisure if you don’t know if or when your income will rise.  Having been in the straight commission life insurance pyramid scam I know that all too well.

Friday didn’t seem like a day off because of course it’s my normal day off. I didn’t do much of consequence for most of the day, though in the late afternoon I went to the gym. Not a bad bench-press session: 6 x 135, 6 x 165, 6 x 185, 4 x 205, 2 x 3 x 225, 6 x 185, 10 x 135. I thought that going when most people would still be at work would make for an uncrowded gym, but I was wrong. A large gym a few miles away is closing, that might be boosting membership at mine.

Saturday and Sunday were workdays at the MHIR. But not full workdays: five and a half hours on Saturday, four on Sunday. Even though the store was quite busy, with many people getting an early jump on gardening season, the shifts were easy enough. What I’ve figured out is that full shifts don’t really start to drag until the last couple of hours.  The reverse of which is that a shift of up to six hours is almost always tolerable. Fine by me.

Published in: on March 25, 2016 at 1:36 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2016/03/25/friday-march-18-sunday-march-20/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

