Thursday, March 31 – Sunday, April 3

It wasn’t that bad. I think.

I was glad to see the current work cycle come to an end on Thursday. Very glad. While I’ve had worse, this one was definitely among the bottom 10% or so. Yet its end brings up a good point about my main job, which is that even the worst cycles come to an end in two weeks. It’s not like I get stuck in an endless loop. Of course this also means that good cycles also end after two weeks, but on balance I consider it an advantage.

Friday was my normal day off, had some stuff to do in the early afternoon but mostly it was a nice leisurely day. Around 6 I went to the gym, hoping to do some bench pressing. Surely, on a Friday evening the gym would be uncrowded and there’d be no wait for the two flat benches (I’d still like to know why a busy gym has only two flat benches, but that’s another issue for another time). Needless to say, my expectations weren’t met, the gym was jammed and I knew that I’d be waiting too long before having a shot at a flat bench. As that didn’t sound like an appealing prospect I just did machine-based upper body exercises. Not as good as bench presses would have been, but sometimes you have to make the best of the situation.

Speaking of potentially bad situations, I had to go into work at the Major Home Improvement Retailer at the ghastly hour of 5am on Saturday. You cannot imagine how much I dreaded that. Fortunately, it didn’t turn out quite as wretched as I feared. Getting up at that ungodly time was horrible, but the work itself was pretty easy. I watered the indoor plants, packed out a bit of freight left over from the previous day, and did some cleanup in the greenhouse. Nothing taxing, and before I knew it the four-hour shift was over. The rest of the day went pretty well.

Sunday was a comparatively rare day off from the MHIR. I took advantage of the break to go to the gym in the early afternoon, and in a rare burst of resolve actually did some deadlifts. Nothing too much, given that it’s been so long. I did 4 x 4 x 225, and followed up with stiff-legged deadlifts, 4 x 6 x 185. I did some machine work to close out the session.

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m really getting into the Unresolved Mysteries forum on Reddit. I’ve been at it long enough that I’m getting to know of more and more of the really perplexing cases. People offer up theories, and while they’re unlikely to lead to any solutions, they’re still an interesting mental exercise.

Published in: on April 6, 2016 at 1:44 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2016/04/06/thursday-march-31-sunday-april-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

