Monday, April 4 – Thursday, April 7

A welcome break

Hey, I really could get used to this. After a couple of very tough work cycles at my main job, relief finally arrived in the form of a very easy cycle. Possibly the easiest one I’ve had in three and a half years on the job. It’s a nice change to be able to take my allotted breaks without having to wonder how I’m ever going to finish on time. On Monday and Wednesday I finished right on time, and on Tuesday and Thursday I was done well over two hours before the usual quitting time. True, my enjoyment was slightly tempered by the fact that other cycles won’t be this easy, but I resolved not to worry about the future and just enjoy the present.

Tuesday was my only shift at the Major Home Improvement Retailer, a 7pm to 11pm one. It was mostly freight packout, nothing too bad. My hours at the MHIR will be picking up considerably over the next two weeks, as garden season approaches. It will start this coming weekend, with eight hour shifts each day, including a ghastly 5am start on Saturday. Not that I’m complaining, as I’ll be making considerably more money. The last couple of months I’ve been averaging about 12 hours a week, and now that will be increasing to about 20. Quite a difference. One thing I’ve got to do is use the forklift more, I’ve been certified to use it since January but actually have used it just a few times.

Monday evening was a gym trip, back and shoulder work including barbell rows. Tuesday evening was work, and on Wednesday we went out for all-you-can-eat sushi. Yes, it’s entirely possible to gorge oneself on sushi.

Published in: on April 11, 2016 at 2:41 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2016/04/11/monday-april-4-thursday-april-7/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Excellent post! We are linking to this great post on our site.


Leave a Reply

