Friday, April 22 – Sunday, April 24

You’ve heard the line: when the going gets tough, the tough get going. Apparently I’m not among the ranks of the tough, because when things got tough while working at the Major Home Improvement Retailer, I couldn’t get going. Not that it was really my fault.

To backtrack a bit, Friday was a typical day off, dedicated to the fine art (or is it science) of doing nothing. Just the way I like it. Saturday, in unpleasant contrast, was a full 8-hour shift at the MHIR, 9:30 to 6. And what a nasty shift it was! While the garden department wasn’t super busy, no mulch on sale this weekend, it was a bit understaffed for most of the time I was there. What that meant is that I was running around here, there and everywhere, on more than one occasion trying to juggle two or more impatient customers. Had there been a mulch sale I honestly don’t know how I could have managed. What didn’t help, at all, was that I had a headache for much of the shift. It was a very long eight hours.

Sunday was my day of reckoning. I was scheduled to work yet another 8-hour shift, this time from 3:30 to (ugh!) midnight. During the last four hours I was scheduled to be on “garden recovery,” which basically means an extensive cleanup of the garden area. Not something I’d want to be doing until midnight. Further, I was scheduled to work almost six hours on Monday and four on Tuesday, in addition of course to my regular job each day. I just didn’t know how I’d be able to manage.

So I didn’t manage. Two hours into the shift I told the manager on duty that I was sick and had to leave. Hey, I actually did have a headache, granted it was the prior day. And I had enough accumulated sick time to avoid any lost pay. Really, it was the only way I was going to make it through this very tough stretch of work.

Published in: on April 30, 2016 at 1:30 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2016/04/30/friday-april-22-sunday-april-24/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

