Monday, May 2 – Thursday, May 5

It got easier. Whew.

Things weren’t looking too good on Monday morning. In fact, “downright putrid” might be a more accurate description. It was the start of a new work cycle at my main job, and for some reason – yes, I should have known better – I thought it would be relatively easy. Turns out I was wrong. Very, very wrong. Four hours into the work it didn’t seem like I had done much of anything. It wasn’t that I was slacking, it was just that there was so much work to be done it was almost beyond achievement.

Fortunately, things took a turn for the better. During the two days I spend at each work site I have tasks for the first day and different ones for the second day. With a couple of telephone calls I was able to  arrange for Tuesday’s tasks to be rescheduled for a later time to be determined. This meant that instead of working for 12+ hours on Monday I was able to take two days. It was a relief, believe me. The same thing happened on Wednesday and Thursday at the cycle’s second work site, though thanks to the learning curve it wasn’t quite as much work. Now, the downside of this arrangement is that I will have to deal with the postponed tasks at some point, in addition to my regular duties during that cycle, but as the expression goes I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

Only one Major Home Improvement Retailer shift during these four days, 5:30 to 11 on Wednesday. It was pretty busy, thanks to the Mt. Everest of freight that had arrived during the day. As much of the freight didn’t pack out on the shelves I made what seemed like endless trips up and down the ladders putting the freight in the overhead storage bays. In particular, I had to carry 16 boxes of pool chemicals, 35 pounds each. Hey, decent exercise!

Published in: on May 10, 2016 at 1:57 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2016/05/10/monday-may-2-thursday-may-5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

