Monday, July 25 – Thursday, July 28

I really wish Inventory Day would arrive soon

Monday marked the start of a new 2-week cycle at my main job. It isn’t among the worst I’ve had, not by a long shot, but is a lot more difficult than what I had been anticipating. It’s a case of things that didn’t look too challenging in advance turning out to be tougher than anticipated when I actually started doing them. It’s somewhat annoying because I really had thought it would be a respite from the tough cycles I’ve been doing. Guess that’ll have to wait.

Now, my work at the Major Home Improvement Retailer has become focused on next Tuesday’s annual inventory. Everything had to be cleared out of the receiving area, which meant endless freight packout. I don’t mind doing that, but not when it’s a near-monomaniacal focus. It’s not like we were being timed on how fast we empty out freight carts, but management still knew how much we were hustling (or not). Given that it’s usually a very low-pressure job this has come as a somewhat unwelcome change. It also made my shifts on Tuesday and Thursday, four and five hours respectively, seem way too long. I’ll be very happy when the inventory’s over.

I made gym visits on Monday and Wednesday, still making incremental progress.

Published in: on August 2, 2016 at 2:21 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2016/08/02/monday-july-25-thursday-july-28/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

