Friday, December 9 – Friday, December 23

Getting into this vacation groove, slowly

One thing I’ve noticed in past years is that the first two weeks of my three-week break from my main job are generally more enjoyable than the last week. It’s not, as you might imagine, due to distress at my impending return to the workaday world. It’s more a matter of, well, time off is fun at first, but eventually gets a bit tedious. When you’re used to going into work every weekday, or every Monday through Thursday as in my case, it’s quite a change to have too much free time. Put differently, time off from work is rather better in the abstract than in reality.

The first of these weeks was busier than the second. On Friday the 9th we went into Manhattan to do some Christmas shopping at the Union Square holiday bazaar, something I’ve been doing for years. There’s always interesting stuff not found at most stores. Looking at all the stalls and their various offerings is much more enjoyable than the corporate-ized shopping experience. The weekend of the 10th and 11th wasn’t much of a vacation as I worked 8-hour shifts at the Major Home Improvement Retailer each day. Christmas tree sales were in full swing, and I spent most of the time out in the tree lot. Better than dealing with the “Do you have any more in the back room?” lights and ornament shoppers inside. I had a pretty good routine for handling trees and the shifts went by quickly.

During the week of the 12th through the 16th I didn’t work too many hours at the MHIR, just a couple of 4’s in the evening. Fine by me, I didn’t do much of anything, though I finally made it back to the gym. Of course there was a list of errands that I had to do, and of course I ended up postponing most of them. Funny how things work out that way. On the weekend of the 17th and 18th I worked two 6-hour MHIR shifts, the tree business had slowed down but not stopped, and on the evening of Sunday the 18th we had the company Christmas party. Much better food than at the past location, although the room was a bit on the small size for the number of people in attendance. Oh, I actually won a door prize, a $25 gift card to 7-11. Something that’ll definitely get put to good use.

The week of the 19th through the 23rd was very quiet. Other than some last-minute local Christmas shopping, one 4-hour MHIR shift, and more gym visits, the time was devoted to the fine art of doing very little. Just the way I wanted it.

Published in: on December 30, 2016 at 3:08 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2016/12/30/friday-december-9-friday-december-23/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

