Monday, February 6 – Thursday, February 9

Thanks Mom (Nature) for a short workweek!

It was not an auspicious start to the week. While I wasn’t sick, per se, I definitely wasn’t at full strength. That sort of unpleasant drag-yourself-around feeling. It didn’t help that both Monday and Wednesday were tough days at my main job. While I was at a worksite that usually isn’t too bad, there were some leftover chores that had to be done in addition to the normal assignments. They weren’t the sort of days where I had to stay late, but I had to work at a pretty fast pace and take shortened lunch breaks. Normally I wouldn’t have minded, not much, but being under 100% made it a bit of an ordeal. Fortunately Wednesday was easier, even though it was at what’s usually a more challenging worksite.

One thing about me is that I generally pay very little attention to weather forecasts. If for no other reason than that they’re often wrong. Even so, the forecasts for Thursday were rather bad: forecasts that originally called for maybe six inches of snow kept getting worse, to the point that 12 to 14 inches were looking likely. What’s more, the worst of the snow was supposed to come in mid-morning to mid-afternoon.

When my alarm went off just before 6 on Thursday morning there was only an inch or two of snow on the ground. I very easily could have made it to the workplace. Knowing the forecasts I figured discretion was the better part of valor and decided not to go in. Sure enough, by the time the snow began to taper off around 2pm there was about 14 inches on the ground, though the heavy drifting made it hard to measure. I can just imagine that getting back the 40 miles from the day’s worksite would have been, ahem, amusing. It took hours to shovel, which at least made it up for the lack of gym-going this week!

Published in: on February 13, 2017 at 1:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2017/02/13/monday-february-6-thursday-february-9/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

