Monday, April 10 – Thursday, April 13

At least I’m finding some gym time

This was supposed to be a semi-vacation week for me, but naturally enough things didn’t work out quite as planned. They never do. Instead of having the week off from my regular job, I only had Wednesday and Thursday off. On Monday and Tuesday I had to go in to make up for the snow days from the Storm of the Century (all two inches of it) in March. At least I had two days off, which is better than nothing, and in truth Monday and Tuesday were not bad days by any means.

As for the Major Home Improvement Retailer, I had 6 to 10 shifts on both Tuesday and Thursday evenings. Tuesday wasn’t bad, but Thursday featured a whole lot more of heavy freight work than I would have liked. This week including Saturday and Sunday is “only” 24.75 hours, I’ll be doing 28 hours in each of the following three weeks. That’s almost more than I can bear. I’m going to have to speak to the store manager and see if somehow she can reduce my hours. Of course I tried that last spring, and it went over like the proverbial lead balloon.

Even with my schedule the way it is I worked in gym visits on Monday and Wednesday. Monday I did some bench pressing, getting a total of 17 reps at 225 (no, not in the same set, I can only wish). Wednesday was back work, mostly machine-based. I’ve figured out that keeping a regular gym schedule is the best way of coping with the avalanche of MHIR hours. I can’t let work dominate my life.

Published in: on April 17, 2017 at 2:52 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2017/04/17/monday-april-10-thursday-april-13/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

