Monday, July 17

Eleven is not my favorite number

Today was a bad day at both my jobs. What should have been an easy enough day at my main job wasn’t, on account of some unexpected complications. Instead of getting out a bit early, as I had expected, I worked until shortly after normal quitting time. As for the Major Home Improvement Retailer, I had a 5:30 to 11 shift. Not only is that a long shift for a both-jobs day, but I dislike five-and-a-half-hour shifts on principle too. Under company rules you have to get a lunch break if you work six hours, but anything short of that, even 30 minutes short as in my case, mean no lunch.  I really suspect that sort of scheduling is entirely deliberate.

Another thing I didn’t like is that I worked until 11, which is one hour after the store closes. Which meant that for the last hour of my shift I had very little to do. Had there been a freight delivery I could have helped the freight team pack it out, but there hadn’t been one. As you might expect, the last hour passed very, very slowly.

Published in: on July 22, 2017 at 3:05 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2017/07/22/monday-july-17/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

